Book Review: City of Ashes (Mortal Instruments #2) by Cassandra Clare

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who's becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn't ready to let her go -- especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary's only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil -- and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings -- and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City's Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

This was even better than City of Bones!  The plot was great, the love angle(s) were great, and the character development was great.  This series has a great love story, based on a forbidden love which is our Achilles' heel.  Forbidden love gets us every time!  Another thing I like about Cassandra Clare is that she titles each chapter.  The title is usually like a little teaser about the chapter content.  I like that a lot.

I love this series!  The books definitely need to be read in order.  If you haven't read Cassandra Clare before, I highly recommend this series.  Fans of Twilight, The Hunger Games, and Harry Potter will enjoy City of Bones and City of Ashes.

Just One Gripe:
The writing sometimes gets a little heavy because Clare uses a lot of analogies. 

The Best Thing About This Book:
The plot.  It's suprisingly complex for a YA series.

Appropriate for a younger audience:
Yes, how refreshing.

Characters:  5/5
Plot:  5/5
Setting/Imagery:  5/5
Originality:  5/5
Ending:  4/5
Total Score:  24/25

Read First:


  1. whoop!! yay im so glad you read it awesome review i so agree and people get put of by the first and i always stress read the 2nd it will explain a lot! now you have to read the third so we may gush about that hehehe xD

  2. I was so out of control this weekend on the reading challenge that I couldn't stop reading this series! And I've already read them all once before! Hubby kept asking, "why are you getting so worked up over these books? You already know what's going to happen." But they are just that good. I'm almost done with book three---stayed up so late reading, something I try not to do on work nights but I couldn't be stopped. :)

  3. I so need to get this series....I keep getting side tracked.

  4. Oh, Mystee you will love them. They really are outstanding. Just outstanding!

  5. Isn't this series great !!! yes it is, who ever thinks other wise is crazy, right!? lol sorry, this book is just that awesome =) and it helps that Jace is so swoon worthy!! Great review!! i Definitely agree!


Word verification stinks--- but spammers are worse. Thank you for your patience!