Book Review Vlog and Giveaway: The Case of the Missing Moonstone (The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency #1) by Jordan Stratford

History, mystery, and science collide in a new series for middle-grade readers, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Lemony Snicket!
Jordan Stratford imagines an alternate 1826, where Ada Lovelace (the world’s first computer programmer) and Mary Shelley (author of Frankenstein) meet as girls and form a secret detective agency!

Lady Ada Byron, age eleven, is a genius. Isolated, awkward and a bit rude—but a genius. Mary Godwin, age fourteen, is a romantic. Adventurous, astute, and kind, Mary is to become Ada’s first true friend. And together, the girls conspire to form the Wollstonecraft Detective Agency—a secret constabulary for the apprehension of clever criminals. Their first case involves a stolen heirloom, a false confession, and an array of fishy suspects. But it’s no match for the deductive powers and bold hearts of Ada and Mary.

Mystery fans will love this tween girl riff on Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. History buffs will be delighted to see all the real figures who play a role in this story and appreciate the extensive backmatter that helps separate truth from fiction. Parents and educators hoping to promote the STEM fields for girls will be thrilled to have a series where two girls use math, science, and creative analytical thinking to solve crimes. But most especially--emerging readers will love this series filled with humor, action, intrigue and wonderful artwork from Kelly Murphy.

Release Date: January 2015
Age Group: Middle Grade
Source: Publisher
Reviewed By: Macy Kate

Great start to a middle grade series!
This series has easily become one of Macy Kate's favorites.  Middle grade readers are sure to fall in love with The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency!  
We're giving away one hard copy of The Case of the Missing Moonstone!
Giveaway Rules:
1.  US residents only (sorry!).
2.  You must be over the age of 13 to enter.
3.  The winner will be notified via email, and will have 72 hours to reply and claim their prize.  If no response is received within 72 hours, another winner will be chosen.
4.  You don't have to follow our blog to enter this giveaway, but you will get extra entries if you do so.  :)
a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Word verification stinks--- but spammers are worse. Thank you for your patience!